Make Friends With Meatballs!

On top of Spaghetti (gluten free, obviously)

All covered in cheese (Cashew cheese or you could use gomasio)

I lost my poor meatball (Organic, free range…)

When somebody sneezed (got a cold? coconut oil should fix that..)

Is it just me? Or do you also torture your children with these tunes from your youth?  Keep reading for an easy, kid friendly, gluten free recipe for the best meatballs ever…

meatballs 1

 

You might have heard that our family has decided, on advice from our naturopath, to go totally gluten free for a couple of months to see if it helps improve the one or two health quirks we are challenged with.  You can read more about that in this post here.

So..it’s only been a week, but already I have learned a few things…

- Gluten free packaged food is really expensive and not terribly good for you.  It is much better to stick to whole foods for meals and make your own treats if you can.

- I am much less hungry.  I’m not craving gluten-y foods like bread or pasta.  I am feeling more satisfied with what I eat.

- I can hear what my body is trying to tell me.  I am eating more intuitively.  I can feel the effects of food more clearly now that gluten and dairy have left the party…for example…nuts and green apple do not agree with me and coffee makes me function like I’m on recreational drugs…you know the one.

- Being prepared is the key to success!  Lunch is the most difficult meal to get used to being prepared for when you are gluten free.  My advice is to make extra at dinner so as to have plenty of leftovers for hungry tummies!  Which brings me to my meatballs…

Make Friends With Meatballs!

Talk about a simple, gluten free, kid friendly, nourishing, generous and delicious idea for dinner!  This is it people…make friends with meatballs!

This recipe is inspired by a wonderful cookbook by Jenny Rosenstrach named Dinner: A Love Story.

meatballs 2

Served with snow peas from our garden!

Makes 24-26 meatballs

Meatballs:

500g good quality mince – I used free range pork but beef, chicken or a combination would be lovely too.

1/2 onion finely diced

1/4 green capsicum finely diced

1/2 cup of rice (white or basmati, if you can, soak for a few hours in plenty of filtered water and 1/2 tsp of whey or a squeeze of lemon juice)

1 clove of garli, crushed

1/2 tsp sea salt

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl using your hands to bring it together.  Roll mixture into small balls (bigger than a walnut, smaller than a golf ball) and set aside.

Sauce:

750mls tomato passata/puree

250mls stock (if you have home made stock or bone broth, use it!)

1 tsp sugar (raw, coconut, maple syrup – whatever you have)

Flavours of your choice – go italian with oregano, basil and parsley or maybe try cinnamon and clove which is what Jenny recommends in her book.

In a large, deep frying pan or oven proof dish with a lid (I use my Le Creuset Dutch Oven) add all of the sauce ingredients and bring to a simmer.  Drop uncooked meatballs into the sauce, place the lid on your pot and simmer for about thirty minutes, turning the meatballs once or twice and ensuring the sauce doesn’t catch on the bottom of your pot.

Serve these delicious morsels with mashed potato or sweet potato if you are hungry or just with some fresh greens if you prefer something lighter.  YUM!

This recipe will most certainly be going into my repertoire!  

How about you?  Do you have a classic family favourite that gets a good run on your meal rotation list?  We’d love to hear what it is!

Happy eating!

mamacino x

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Make Friends With Meatballs!

    • Hi Megan, No, the rice isn’t cooked. This is the beauty of this easy recipe – not too much prep. I soak all of my grains before cooking them to make them easier to digest…so you just pop the 1/2 cup of raw rice in a bowl, cover with filtered water, add a small squeeze of lemon juice and leave it for up to 8 hours x

  1. I sing that to my kids all the time but I make up the end because I can never remember it! I love your rendition too ;)

  2. As a vego constantly struggling to figure out what to cook for my meat-eating (and gluten intolerant) daughters, I am loving the look of these meatballs!
    They’ll be a regular on my weekly menu – thanks sweetheart! Xx

  3. My naturopath also put me on gluten-free/dairy-free for a couple of months, and I so identify with what you’ve written. :-) Lunch IS the hardest and I’ve been living on leftovers. These meatballs sound delicious! :-)

  4. we live on meatballs here – all types of meat ! I make up loads at once, cook them in the oven and freeze some too. They are fab with pasta (I use GF pasta, still can’t give up pasta!), in wraps with salad or just with veges. So versatile and everyone likes them. I recently did some with cooked quinoa in them and it was really good. :)

Leave a Reply

