Vegetable Pate and why we’re going gluten free.

It is official.  We are going gluten free.

I would have said we were pretty gluten free anyway, but when I started to think about it…organic sour dough bread, spelt flour in baking, a pasta dish on our menu most weeks…we weren’t as gluten free as I thought!

This latest dietary fine tuning comes as advice from our Naturopath. My children have a few health quirks, one of them being a very low level of important minerals such as calcium, magnesium, iron and zinc.  Despite having a pretty great diet and a healthy lifestyle, their little bodies, for reasons we are still investigating, have a hard time absorbing these little power packed nutrients.  So where does the gluten free part come in?  Well, as I understand it, grains contain Phytic Acid which binds with minerals such as the ones I have mentioned making them unavailable to the body.  This is complicated so for more information, you can read this article which also tells us how best to prepare our grains if we would still like to eat them.

So on Sunday I cleaned out my pantry and fridge and de-glutened.  On Monday, I restocked with fresh fruit and vegetables, grass fed beef, organic chicken…and some gluten free off the shelf products.

I don’t believe the answer to better health comes from the gluten free aisle at the supermarket, however, I have made a decision to be kind to myself. To avoid getting overwhelmed, I have bought some gluten free rice pasta, crackers and a few other bits and pieces like organic popcorn and chia and rice bread.  My idea is to transition slowly over a couple of weeks and aim to soon be pretty much grain free.  I know that this is a great move towards better health for my family and I think having the support of my Naturopath will make it easier for me to make the change smoothly.  Well, I hope so!

Vegetable Pate

From The New Enlightened Eating by Caroline Marie Dupont

This delicious pate is vegetarian, gluten, dairy and nut free!  It is a yummy thing to spread on crackers in place of sugary options like honey and jam which my kids happen to love!

pateIngredients:

1 cup of raw sunflower seeds, soaked in filtered water for four hours

1 carrot, chopped

1 stalk of celery, chopped

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

I clove of garlic, minced

2 T fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 T miso paste

Pinch of your best salt

What to do:

Drain and rinse the sunflower seeds, then add them to a food processor or Thermomix  with the carrot, celery, garlic and parsley.  Process until finely chopped but still with some texture.

Add the lemon juice, miso and salt and process again until combined.

Use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the processor if necessary and whiz again.  Scoop into a bowl and eat right away or keep covered in the fridge for 2-3 days.

If you are interested in eating gluten free, you might like to check out these posts…

Grain Free Banana Maple Muffins

Our Favourite Gluten Free Breakfasts

Speedy Fried Rice

Polenta Pizza

I would love to hear any advice or suggestions about going gluten free – especially when it comes to the kids!  Leave me a comment if you get the chance x

Happy eating!

mamacino x

28 thoughts on “Vegetable Pate and why we’re going gluten free.

  1. I have been advised to go gluten free by my naturopath but I have a love affair with bread, particularly sour dough..one I’m quite content continuing with at the moment.
    Re: the vege pate – you have just come to my reduce! I often swerve cut up veges with homemade avo dip for snack time. The problem is that one of my daughters hates avocado – so, I shall try the vege pate for her and see how we go. Thanks Kristin!

  2. Snap! Our grain free Paleo experiment starts next Monday (I’ve been madly trying to get through our grains but after all the info I have read about them (three paleo books and counting).i’m sort of put off them. My hubby has said suspiciously a few times (I’m not Paleo yet!)

    I hope this is the key needed for your family :) That vege pate looks amazing x

  3. Sounds delicious Kristin! I’m getting my little guy to make gradual changes and I think he’d go for this on rice crackers.
    I’m nearly two weeks into a low FODMAPs program so whilst not totally gluten free, I’m wheat free and having only small amounts of gluten in oats. I’m weaning the other two in the house by just slowly decreasing the amount of gluten they have and substituting where I can. Texture is a big thing for us – we all need crunchy stuff (and carrot sticks don’t always do it!) – so I always keep that in mind when making changes to what we’re eating. Good luck :-)

  4. Hey Kristin, yeah my naturopath has put me on dairy and gluten free for a few months to clean out my system and test the waters, and being a vegetarian to start with makes things a little tricky!

    I’ve been finding eating out a little tricky (especially because I hate to cause a fuss), but sticking with either a store bought gluten free muesli (mostly puffed rice, sunflower seeds etc), two apples with almond butter, or a home made trail mix (fruit, nuts, seeds) seems to work for breakfast. For lunch/work snacks, I’ve been having veggie sticks with home made dips (babaganoush, hummous), a salad and chickpea falafel or lentil burger or something, and for dinner, well, all I can say is, thank god for chickpeas, beans and rice!

  5. Hi

    Good luck with the gf experiment!
    I have coeliac disease and my 3 yr old is gluten intolerant (and has been off gluten for 6 months – with significant improvements!!).

    A few tips that immediately come to mind:

    Deeks bread makes a good sandwich bread.

    There is a bondi made sprouted
    sourdough that is gluten free which is lovely.

    Gluten free girl has lots of great recipes and really good info on different gf flour blends.

    Paleo websites / cook books are a great resource as they are all gluten free.

    I always try to make and freeze (healthyish) cakes and muffins to send to preschool for birthdays and to take to parties so my little one doesn’t miss out.

    More than happy to have a chat by email if you need any tips!

    Best wishes

  6. Nobody is really noticing the shift to gluten-free in the house. May have something to do with the fact that I still provide Sonoma Spelt Sourdough. I reckon they’d notice if I whisked that one away!

  7. Good on you for taking the step to GF, I’m sure you will see some amazing results. Spelt sourdough was the last thing I gave up (a cafe near us bakes it fresh and I LOVED it!), but the health benefits were sooooo worth it (bye bye bloating and foggy brain!). Good luck and feel free to send me an email if you need any help with recipe ideas, etc :) xo

  8. I might make the dip for our Father’s Day lunch this Sunday. I don’t know if I could go 100% gluten free but I eat a lot less bread than I used to and my wife picks up gluten free products from her work and for the most part, they are good. I look forward to seeing more of your recipes.

  9. Challenging gig to cut the gluten out – especially in kid’s lunch boxes. Although one of my daughter’s eats some gluten for lunch, the other doesn’t. To give the kids a break from home-made sushi or rice-paper rolls, or GF chicken schnitzels with vege sticks, I bought some small thermos’ for them (Foogoo brand) to take to school, and often will put in warmed up soups, risotto, GF pasta etc. (not sure if some of those ideas help if you’re going grain free though?)

  10. I like that you empathised going through this process slowly, one step at a time. It’s quite daunting, especially for a bread/pasta/pizza/grain lover like myself. I bought GF flower, muesli and pasta today – and then we’ll take one step at a time. Or one GF banana muffin at a time! ;)

  11. Pingback: WEEKLY WONDERS |

  12. Pingback: Make Friends With Meatballs! | mamacino

  13. My daughter, hubby and I are gluten free. Convicing the teenager to give up his bread is not so easy, but we are working on him! It wasn’t as hard as I thought actually. We use a lot of nuts and coconut flour as substitutes. What about seed crackers? Would the kids eat those? I am perfecting a recipe for the blog.

  14. Pingback: 115 Delicious Vegan Recipes for your Meatless Monday

Leave a Reply

